Monday, November 1, 2010

OBNEA Run From Addiction 10k

Well, I did it! My official time was 1 hour 10 minutes and 19 seconds. I didn't really care what my time was. My only goal was to finish the race without stopping. It was a beautiful course. Right along the Oklahoma City River. The weather was cold and windy. We got there about 40 minutes early and had to wait in the cold. Yikes. It was only 50 degrees outside which really isn't bad, but factor in that wind and holy moly! I wore a long sleeve shirt with my race t-shirt on top, long pants, gloves and a hat to cover my ears. So glad I had those things!

The atmosphere of the race was fun. They had some music and dancing going on before the race started. And since it was the day before Halloween, people were dressed up. Some people ran in their costumes, including someone dressed up as a taco! It was a 5k and a 10k. I think most people ran the 5k. I was jealous because they turned around I still had quite a distance to go, haha!

Overall, I felt very prepared. I had my runkeeper on and she kept me in line :) I didn't really want to run faster than 11:30/mile but I averaged 11:10 per mile. It felt fine. The wind was so strong on the way back, like 20mph winds for the last three miles. Around mile 4 or so I started to get tired. I pushed through though. I was happy to have a mentally good race! You runners know what I mean.

I'm thinking of signing up for another 10k in December. It's a reindeer run. And although I know it will be cold, I'll warm up eventually and have to shed the hat and gloves. My neighbors are going to do it too. I think I am going to sign up to run the OKC Memorial Half Marathon this week. I'm gonna just have to do it so I can train for it and not fall off the wagon. My next goals, besides the marathon, is to incorporate more workouts other than running. I'd mainly like to do yoga and pilates. I'd love to do yoga once a week and pilates once a week. We'll see.


After the race from left to right: Me, Susie, Jodie, and Tom
I had just finished cramming two donuts in my mouth :) Oh, and running a 10k!