Tuesday, December 31, 2013

New Years Eve!


Well I've had a couple of days to get my head straight and I'm restarting the challenge tomorrow.  I noticed something interesting though since I've quit coffee--I am not as tired.  I never had that afternoon slump or evening slump.  I'm looking forward to trying to go longer without it and after the challenge, just having an occasional cup (not sure if it'll be possible or not).  

I've been reading the book It Starts With Food.  The authors created the Whole 30 Challenge.  A quote that resonated with me was "the food you eat will either make you more healthy or less healthy".  There's no in between.  I hate this ridiculous lure food I'm not supposed to eat has on me.  And that's what I'm hoping to get out of the challenge, to gain the power.  To only put nourishing food into my body and keep out the rest. It's a journey, I know.  It takes time.  It starts tomorrow!

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Whole 30 Day 3

I wish I could say today went better than yesterday.  I had a couple of "cheats" today so I'm starting over.  It's okay.  I want to do it right and honestly.  I had a bite or two of Jack's coconut ice cream,
 a couple of helpings of chocolate chips and a French fry.  It all sounds innocent enough but I need to start over, challenge rules 😞.

Well anyway for breakfast today I had some bologna and kraut.  I spent a lot of time in the kitchen today preparing meals for the week.  I made a big batch of chicken soup.  I made some turkey patties and grilled onions, and some sweet potatoes.  

For lunch I had a turkey patty with grilled onions, cucumber, broccoli, and a half a sweet potato.  It was delicious.



Lunch was late so I wasnt too hungry for dinner.  I had a small cup of chicken soup.  

Day 1 starts over tomorrow.  Maybe I rushed into this...cravings smavings.

Saturday, December 28, 2013

Whole 30 Day 2

Ugh.  Is kind of how I'm feeling today.  And a bit grumpy.   I miss my coffee.  I decided this morning  I'm just going to stop drinking it because it tastes terrible black.  I've tried spicing it up but it's no use.  I had two cups of tea in place of my coffee today.  It's warm?  That helped.

I didn't have any leftover soup to eat today for breakfast.  Instead I made a package of bacon for us all.  Eli had a pancake, JR had toast and bacon (normally I'd make him eggs too but I was out, I needed to shop!).  I had bacon, kraut, a few grapes and broccoli.  


It's a breakfast I've had before.  

Eli and JR went out for lunch to get some
Pizza and ice cream (lucky them, another reason I'm grumpy).  No really I'm happy they got out of the house.  I waited for Jack to wake up from his nap and then we went to Chipotle.  Mmmmm.  I got a
Steak Salad.  So lettuce and steak, with some salsa on the side.  It was pretty good.  They only charged me half price because I didn't have cheese or sour cream on it.  


It wasn't until I got home and unloaded the goodies I got Eli and JR at the store that I started to get the munchies.  Why did I get them goodies?  I warmed up a hot dog and some more sauerkraut and grapes for dinner.  Thank goodness I shopped today, I need some more variety!!

So day 2 is over.  I'm definitely not hungry but miss snacking.  And my coffee.  I fell asleep so early last night so maybe cutting out coffee will get me more rest.  Goodnight!

Sami

Friday, December 27, 2013

Whole 30 Day 1

Today is day 1 of my whole 30 challenge!  I stepped on the scale this morning, before breakfast, and I'm weighing in at 117.  3 pounds down from the start of December, that's 13lbs lost on my gluten free diet, no exercise.  I don't normally weigh myself everyday and I won't for the challenge.  I think I will weigh myself half way through.

So far today is going well.  For breakfast I had some of my leftover chicken soup (forgot to take a picture!). I make a batch of homemade chicken soup every week.  JR and I will usually have it for dinner one or two nights and then I have it leftover the rest of the week (I put noodles in his).  Sometimes if I'm in a rush in the morning, I will put the soup in a mason jar.  It fits nicely in my cup holder and I can drink the broth.  Mornings when I drop off Eli at school and head to the chiropractor I have a couple of minutes before they open to eat the chicken in my soup.  

I'm really limited in what I can eat for breakfast.  Sure there are tons of gluten free replacement versions of pancakes, waffles, cereal etc.  Those things good once in a while but they are all processed and some brands have some questionable ingredients.  I have gotten used to eating non-breakfast foods for breakfast plus, homemade bone broth is excellent for you!  It's high mineral content is good for boosting your immune system and supporting digestion.  If you make the soup correctly, the gelatin is excellent for bone health, skin, hair and nails!  

I made my coffee this morning and kept out the sugar and creamer 😔.  I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon in but really it's not the same.  I can honestly see giving up coffee during this challenge.  I guess without those two things it's just "meh".

I got hungry really early today for lunch.  Normally the coffee keeps my appetite suppressed (which I guess isn't a good thing) and by noon I've usually had two cups of coffee already.  I just needed something quick so I heated up a hot dog and some leftover sauerkraut.  I left out the ketchup because it's loaded with sugar.  

We went out for errands today and decided to get lunch at Smash Burger.  I got their big hamburger patty with lettuce, pickles, and grilled onions.  No bun, cheese, fries or ketchup.  Hard to resist a couple nibbles of fries but I did it!

Snack hour has rolled around here in our house and my cravings for coffee with cream are getting stronger!  Oh and jr asked me to make him some brownies so now I have delicious warm brownies calling my name from the kitchen.  That's okay.  I can do it.  I heated up some more sauerkraut and had a handful of grapes.
I find myself eating really random things sometimes.  Day 1 is over!

Sami

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Whole 30 Challenge

It's been a year since I decided to try a gluten free lifestyle.  While I'd like to say I've been gluten free for a year...well I can't.  I definitely have my struggles.  I can list a half dozen (maybe more!) excuses here but they are just excuses.  If I was really dedicated, if my head was
really in the game, I would find a way to do it and be compliant.  

Over the last few weeks I've been reading all the information I can on a real food challenge called Whole 30.  While they don't claim to be a Paleo diet, they share some of the same principles.  During the challenge, you refrain from eating:

NO Gluten
NO Grains (oats, rice, corn, wheat)
NO Dairy
NO Sugar
NO Legumes
NO Processed Foods

For 30 consecutive days.  I can do it!  Most blogs I've read say planning is
crucial.  I don't normally meal plan so that will be a challenge in and of itself.  

This Christmas I have had so many gluten cheats.  My poor stomach is in misery today and I think....no.  I know this is the final straw.  I want to get over these hurdles.  I'm tired of the internal mental debate with myself "oh it's just one bite, you deserve it".  Or "I didn't have time to eat so I had to grab [insert gluten filled food product here]."  

So I'm really excited about this Whole 30 challenge!!  Tomorrow morning might be rough.  I will have to drink my coffee...BLACK.  Gasp.  Actually, I'm kinda hoping to just kick my coffee addiction at the same time.  I'd really just like to be a tea drinker.  One step at a time.  I'll focus on eating whole foods.
Meat, chicken, pork and fish,veggies, and some fruit.  The challenge allows
you to eat eggs, nuts and seeds too, but I'm intolerant to those so I normally avoid them.  

What am I hoping to gain from this challenge?  Good question.  I'm hoping my skin (psoriasis) will clear up.   I'm hoping once and for all to kick my sugar and gluten addiction.  I'm looking to remove grains from my diet, at least long enough to slowly add them back in and see how my body tolerates them.  Grains are similar to gluten in that they are often inflammatory to your body.  Some people have no issues with them though.  I'm trying to reduce dairy a lot and maybe even eliminate dairy completely but this makes me kinda want to cry.  Boo hoo.  I'm not really looking to lose weight, but I have lost 10 lbs since last December.
 I have also lost inches and I'm in 
Size 4 jeans, down from Size 8!!  That's without exercise.  The bloating goes away quick once you eliminate those inflammatory foods.

I hope you will follow me on my journey, or even join me!!  I am going to try to post pictures of my meals.  And some selfie before and after pictures.